County Commissioners & Elected Officials

The legislative and executive arm of County government is the County Board of Commissioners (comprised of three elected members) or the County Executive.

The Commissioners name all department heads, as well as most members of the various boards, authorities and committees. In addition, the Commissioners appoint, and establish salaries of, all County employees.

The management of County property and all phases of financial administration, except final audit, also rest with the Commissioners. They are responsible for the preparation, adoption and execution of the annual budget, as well as for the taxing of all property, both real and personal, for County purposes.

The Court of Common Pleas operating costs are included in the county budget. Counties support the courts by providing an array of human services funded through various federal, state and county sources.

Related Resources